top of page

Biovigilance on emerging and regulated pests : detection, epidemiological risks and control methods

The potato's vegetative propagation method, the intensification of trade, changes in climate and cultivation practices, and the reduction in the range of synthetic chemical products all increase the risk of introducing or spreading pathogenic organisms that are currently absent or only present to a limited extent in Europe.
 

Some of them pose a serious threat to potato crops because of the damage they can cause and the difficulties involved in eradicating them. They are classified by the European health authorities on the lists of Quarantine Pests (Plant Health Regulation 2016/2031), for which no tolerance is allowed, with compulsory monitoring and the implementation of appropriate control methods in the event of detection. The economic consequences for growers affected by the detection of a Quarantine Pest can be considerable, due to the damage caused and the strict outbreak management measures required. 


The parasites included in the programme are : 

  • the bacteria of the Ralstonia solanacearum complex (R. solanacearum, R. pseudosolanacearum and R. syzygii) and Clavibacter sepedonicus, responsible for brown rot and ring rot on potatoes respectively ; 

  • root-knot nematodes, Meloidogyne chitwoodi, M. fallax and M. enterolobii, and cyst nematodes, Globodera pallida and G. rostochiensis, species that are very damaging because they are difficult to eradicate due to their wide host range in the case of the former and their survival form, the cyst, in the case of the latter. Biovigilance is maintained for other Meloidogyne species likely to be introduced into the country or already sporadically present in Europe;

  • Candidatus Liberibacter solanacearum, a phloem bacterium transmitted by psyllids that causes Zebra Chip disease on potatoes in North America and New Zealand. Certain haplotypes, different from those responsible for Zebra Chip, have been detected in several European countries on Apiaceae and sporadically on potatoes (Spain, Finland); 

  • Phytoplasmas and pospiviroids that occur sporadically in Europe and have recently been detected in certain EU countries. Biovigilance is therefore maintained for these Regulated Non-Quarantine Organisms (RNQO), for which no tolerance is permitted.

The aim of this programme is therefore to maintain the health status of the region and its crops in relation to quarantine organisms and emerging parasites, in particular by stepping up biovigilance and prophylaxis initiatives and rethinking pest control strategies. 

The team

Anne-Claire Le Roux (FN3PT)  (2).jpg

Anne-Claire Le Roux

Programme manager

INRAE IGEPP
Le Rheu (35)

IMG_5575.JPG

Marie-Sophie Neveux

Research technician

INRAE IGEPP
Le Rheu (35)

IMG_5579.JPG

Laure Berton

Assistant engineer

INRAE IGEPP
Le Rheu (35)

Pauline Dewaegeneire.jpg

Pauline Dewaegeneire

Research engineer

In charge of experiments

Comité Nord
Achicourt (62)

IMG_5524.JPG

Bruno Massa Ngala

Research engineer

Comité Nord 
Achicourt (62)

  • LinkedIn
IMG_5536.JPG

Florian Manceau

Research technician

Comité Nord
Achicourt (62)

MicrosoftTeams-image.png

Peggy Colson

Technical assistant

Comité Nord
Achicourt (62)

Aurélie_Leclerc.JPG

Aurélie Leclerc

Research technician

INRAE IGEPP
Le Rheu (35)

IMG-20231030-WA0001.jpg

Sarah Trempont

Assistant engineer

INRAE IGEPP
Le Rheu (35)

MicrosoftTeams-image.png

Antinéa Sallen

PhD student

ANSES
Angers (49)

Our partners

Comité Nord.png
SP.jpg
BPI-couleurs-fond-transparent.png
CCS.gif
INRAE.png
IGEPP.jpg
BP-couleurs.jpg
LOGO_Grocep_2012_edited.jpg
bottom of page

top of page

Biovigilance sur les Organismes Nuisibles Réglementés et les Emergences : détection, risques épidémiologiques
et moyens de lutte

Le mode de multiplication végétatif de la pomme de terre, l’intensification des échanges commerciaux, les évolutions climatiques et des pratiques culturales, la réduction du panel de produits chimiques de synthèse, multiplient le risque d’introduction ou de dissémination d’organismes pathogènes actuellement absents ou présents de façon limitée sur le territoire européen.

Certains d’entre eux constituent une menace sérieuse pour les cultures de pomme de terre par les dégâts qu’ils peuvent provoquer et les difficultés pour les éradiquer. Ils sont classés par les autorités sanitaires européennes sur les listes des Organismes de Quarantaine (Règlement Santé des végétaux 2016/2031) pour lesquels aucune tolérance n’est admise avec obligation de contrôle et mise en œuvre de méthodes de lutte adaptées en cas de détection. Les conséquences économiques pour les producteurs concernés par la détection d’un Organisme de Quarantaine peuvent être considérables du fait des dégâts occasionnés mais aussi des strictes mesures de gestion de foyers. 

Les parasites pris en compte dans le programme sont : 

 

  • les bactéries du complexe Ralstonia solanacearum (R. solanacearum, R. pseudosolanacearum et R. syzygii) et Clavibacter sepedonicus, respectivement responsables des maladies de la pourriture brune et de la pourriture annulaire sur pomme de terre ; 

  • ​les nématodes à galle, Meloidogyne chitwoodi, M. fallax et M. enterolobii, et les nématodes à kystes, Globodera pallida et G. rostochiensis, espèces très préjudiciables car difficiles à éradiquer de par leur large gamme d’hôtes pour les premiers et de par leur forme de survie, le kyste, pour les seconds. Une biovigilance est maintenue sur d’autres espèces de Meloidogyne susceptibles d’être introduites sur le territoire ou déjà présentes sporadiquement en Europe ;

  • Candidatus Liberibacter solanacearum, bactérie du phloème transmise par des psylles et qui provoque la maladie du Zebra Chip sur pomme de terre en Amérique du Nord et en Nouvelle Zélande. Certains haplotypes, différents de ceux responsables du Zebra Chip, ont été détectés dans plusieurs pays européens sur apiacées et de façon sporadique sur pomme de terre (Espagne, Finlande) ;

  • Les phytoplasmes et les pospiviroïdes présents de façon sporadique en Europe et qui ont récemment été détectés dans certains pays de l’UE. Une biovigilance est donc maintenue sur ces Organismes Réglementés Non de Quarantaine (ORNQ) mais pour lesquels aucune tolérance n’est admise.

 

L’enjeu de ce programme est donc de préserver l’état sanitaire privilégié du territoire et des cultures vis-à-vis des organismes de quarantaine et de parasites émergents, notamment en renforçant les actions de biovigilance et de prophylaxie et en repensant les stratégies de lutte. 

L'équipe

Anne-Claire Le Roux (FN3PT)  (2).jpg

Anne-Claire Le Roux

Responsable programme

INRAE IGEPP
Le Rheu (35)

IMG_5575.JPG

Marie-Sophie Neveux

Technicienne de recherche

INRAE IGEPP
Le Rheu (35)

IMG_5579.JPG

Laure Berton

Assistante ingénieure

INRAE IGEPP
Le Rheu (35)

Pauline Dewaegeneire.jpg

Pauline Dewaegeneire

Ingénieure d'études

Responsable expérimentations

Comité Nord
Achicourt (62)

IMG_5524.JPG

Bruno Massa Ngala

Ingénieur de recherche

Comité Nord 
Achicourt (62)

  • LinkedIn
IMG_5536.JPG

Florian Manceau

Technicien de recherche

Comité Nord
Achicourt (62)

MicrosoftTeams-image.png

Peggy Colson

Aide technicienne

Comité Nord
Achicourt (62)

Aurélie_Leclerc.JPG

Aurélie Leclerc

Technicienne de recherche

INRAE IGEPP
Le Rheu (35)

IMG-20231030-WA0001.jpg

Sarah Trempont

Assistante ingénieure

INRAE IGEPP
Le Rheu (35)

MicrosoftTeams-image.png

Antinéa Sallen

Doctorante

ANSES
Angers (49)

Nos partenaires

Comité Nord.png
SP.jpg
BPI-couleurs-fond-transparent.png
CCS.gif
INRAE.png
IGEPP.jpg
BP-couleurs.jpg
LOGO_Grocep_2012_edited.jpg
bottom of page